Go to ...

 

 

A Deep Six’d
Publication

RSS Feed

July 22, 2019

Wolverton #2 (Review)

Wolverton #2 Writers: Michael Stark and Terrell T. Garrett Burnt Biscuit Books, Fall 2019 We have previously reviewed the first issue of Wolverton, an 1930s pulp adventure comic with shades of dark fantasy by writers Michael Stark and Terrell T. Garrett. That first issue focused on crime as a source of entertainment and distraction to

Fantasy

Kill Six Billion Demons (Volume 1) (Review)

Kill Six Billion Demons (Volume 1)Image Comics, March 2016Writer and artist: Abaddon (Tom Parkinson-Morgan) Allison: “God is… dead? So who’s… like, in charge?Aeon: “What happens to a man’s house when he dies? The cats, the rats, and the cockroaches take over.” (This review deals only with Volume 1. Our review of Volume 2 will follow

Superheroes

DC Comics to Retire Flash Titles

(Los Angeles): DC Comics announced today that it will be retiring long-serving superhero, The Flash and cancelling the character’s title. The American comic book publisher, which has had The Flash comic books in constant circulation since 1956, decided to cease publishing the character with the final issue of the title, The Flash #70, being the last. “We’re really sad

Horror

Hardbody #1 (review)

Hardbody #1Writer: Fred Schwartz  Writer Fred Schwarz and his team take a long, wry look at gym culture in this new independent title, Hardbody.  Borrowing heavily from Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein (1818), Mr Schwartz wonders what are the aesthetic limits to physical perfection, and to what extent a person is willing to cheat. Mr Schwartz has a very useful

View More ››
Miscellania

Sony in legal challenge with DC Comics over ‘Zero Hour’ Trademark

Long-standing readers of DC Comics’ superhero fare will remember the publisher’s 1994 comic book series “Zero Hour”. This was a limited series designed to reboot DC Comics’ superhero continuity. It was creatively remarkable in that some of the last pages of various issues were intentionally blank, to demonstrate erasure of the existing continuity. In 1995, DC

Science fiction

Sharkey the Bounty Hunter #1 (review)

Sharkey the Bounty Hunter #1Image Comics / MillarWorld Writer: Mark Millar On 7 August 2017 the television production and broadcasting company Netflix purchased a company called MillarWorld Limited. MillarWorld was the corporate vehicle for the creativity of a Scottish comic book writer named Mark Millar, of whom we have written many times previously. The terms

View More ››
Australia

The Resurrected #5 (Review)

The Resurrected #5Carnouche Productions, March 2019Writer: Christian Carnouche We have been following Australian writer Christian Carnouche’s independently-published title The Resurrected for some time, and with this fifth issue the title reaches a conclusion. For a summary of the plot and the issues of treatment of Australian Aboriginal people which the title addresses, please follow this link. As

Independent/Self-Published

Ax Man #1 (review)

Ax Man #1March 2019Writer: Ryan Little While we frequently explore horror titles, World Comic Book Review does not write about zombie-led plots very often. The success of Image Comics’ The Walking Dead in the early 2000s spawned an enormous zombie horror sub-genre, much of which we think is a waste of time (including, perhaps controversially, Marvel Zombies).  And

Independent/Self-Published

Drugs and Wires: Down in a Hole (review) (volume 1)

Drugs and Wires: Down in a Hole (volume 1)September 2018 (collection)Writer: Mary Safro “Reactivating it’s out of the question, though. Not until I find some way to scrub the worm.”“So the thing’s still sitting in your ‘ware, huh. Hey, why don’t you come down to my shop tomorrow? I’ll fire up the ol’ angle grinder

Superheroes

The Batman Who Laughs: The Grim Knight #1 (Review)

The Batman Who Laughs: The Grim Knight #1DC Comics, May 2018Writer: Scott Snyder Batman seems to have a very bad case of parallel universe problems. After the initial exploration of this in the Metal storyline in early 2018 (some of which we reviewed), American writer Scott Snyder introduces us to a new parallel universe version of Batman, called

Superheroes

Doomsday Clock #9 (Review)

Doomsday Clock #9DC Comics, May 2019Writer: Geoff Johns With this new issue, DC Comics’ headline writer Geoff Johns continues his integration of Alan Moore’s seminal title Watchmen into DC Comics’ regular superhero continuity.  Over a year ago, we discussed whether re-writing Watchmen is a cardinal sin. We concluded that if one is to sin, then one should do it well

View More ››