Go to ...

 

 

A Deep Six’d
Publication

RSS Feed

November 21, 2018

Popova #2 (review)

Popova #2 2018 Writers: Dre Torres and Alex Valdez Back in May 2017, we wrote an extremely positive review of Popova #1. Written by two men, Dre Torres and Alex Valdez, this is a feminist rape/revenge genre comic book. Self-evidentially this is a grim genre, and there will contention about its deployment by male writers.

Independent/Self-Published

Death Sentence: Liberty #1 (Review)

Death Sentence: Liberty #1 Writer: Monty Nero November 2018 Death Sentence: Liberty is an independent comic written by Monty Nero. It is a superhero title with a new-ish premise. Humans are prone to infection by a sexually-transmitted virus called “Super-G”. The virus is fatal, but for a time gives its victims “extranormal abilities.” These people

Other media on comic books

The Weeknd and Marvel’s Starboy Comic in Court

Pop singer The Weeknd’ superhero alter ego, “Starboy,” was misappropriated from a start-up comic book creator. This is the allegation set out in the lawsuit the comic book creator has commenced against the singer (whose real name is apparently Abel Makkonen Tesfaye, according to court documents) in California. Eymun Talasazan, the comic book writer and

View More ››
Japan

Godzilla: Aftershock and the British Museum’s Japanese Woodblock Print Collection

This week Legendary Comics have announced the graphic novel GODZILLA: AFTERSHOCK, written by Arvid Nelson, with art by Drew Edward Johnson. Godzilla is a kaiju – the most famous of all kaiju – and we have written previously of the character’s history. Rather unsurprisingly, in this new title which is to be released concurrently with

Superheroes

Capes in Cars: the surprising absence of the automobile in American superhero comics

The superhero genre of comics has a musty American origin. It dates back to the late 1930s, to a time when superheroes were considered to be a booming cheap media fad and not a genre. Contrary to expectations from the turn of the millenium of the end of the industry, superhero comics have been revived

Fantasy

The Wicked + the Divine: Mothering Invention (volume 7) (Review)

The Wicked + the Divine: Mothering Invention (volume 7) Image Comics, October 2018 Writer: Kieron Gillen The Wicked + The Divine is a unique comic. It takes concepts of resurrection and divinity and mixes them with contemporary pop culture. The overarching plot runs like this: Throughout human history, god-like archetypes suddenly appear every ninety years

Crime

Deadly Class volume 7 – Love Like Blood (Review)

Deadly Class volume 7 – Love Like Blood Image Comics, October 2018 Writer: Rick Remender In our review of Deadly Class volume 6, we urged writer Rick Remender to allow the story’s protagonist, Marcus, to finally kill the foul Russian named Viktor. The characters are depicted as thoroughly detesting each other. We as Mr Remender’s

View More ››
Superheroes

The Umbrella Academy: Oblivion Hotel #1 (Review)

The Umbrella Academy: Oblivion Hotel #1 Dark Horse Comics, November 2018 Writer: Gerard Way It has been a ten year wait for readers of Gerard Way’s The Umbrella Academy. The first series, The Umbrella Academy: The Apocalypse Suite, won the 2008 Eisner Award for Best Finite Series/Limited Series. The second series, The Umbrella Academy: Dallas,

Superheroes

A Spider-Man manga – Marvel Comics and Shonen Magazine announce 2018 the Marvel Manga Award winner

Shonen Magazine (a Kodansha publication) announced on 2 October 2018 that the winner of the second Marvel Manga Awards competition is Yusuke Osawa for his story, “Spider-Man: I’m Not A Hero.” Mr Osawa wines JPY3 million and gets a contract to write and draw the story for Magazine Pocket manga. Mr Osawa’s previous work includes

Science fiction

Cemetery Beach #1 (Review)

Cemetery Beach #1 Image Comics, October 2018 Writer: Warren Ellis If humans successfully move off-planet and establish far-reaching colonies, will they bring with them the sins of the past? British writer Warren Ellis, a writer with a prodigious creative output, seems to think so. Presently, Mr Ellis is writing Trees, Injection, Shipwreck, The Wildstorm and

Miscellania

Alas for me! I am dead!: Roman-era comics discovered in a tomb in Jordan

The medium we critique is often trivialised, and so we take smug delight whenever we come across evidence of the historical pedigree of comics. Pictures on a tomb, with dialogue in adjacent speech balloons, have been unearthed in a tomb in Jordan. The tomb was discovered in 2016 in the town of Beyt Ras, which

View More ››